Address: 24A M. Baghramyan Ave. 0019, Yerevan, Armenia
Tel.: +374 10 52 44 26
Fax: +374 10 52 23 44
E-mail: igs @

Laboratory of Volcanology
About Maps and Graphics Images
Scientific Personnel and Areas of Study
International Scientific Cooperation
Scientific Areas Publications

About the Laboratory

As an independent subdivision in the IGS structure, the laboratory was established in 1963 and Ph.D. K. Shirinyan was appointed its first head. From 1989 to 2011, the laboratory of volcanology had functioned under the leadership of R. Jrbashyan, Academician of the NAS RA. Since 2011, the laboratory has been supervised by Ph.D. Kh. Meliksetian.
The laboratory is the only scientific department in Armenia, which specializes in volcanology and assessment of hazardous volcanic phenomena. It has wide recognition both in the republic and abroad.
Since the year the IGS was established and until the laboratory was formed, volcanological studies in Armenia had been led by such acknowledged geologists as H. Karapetyan, T. Jrbashyan, K. Paffenholtz, P. Ghambaryan, H. Stepanyan and others. Since the 1950s, systematized research on various problems of volcanology had been performed by the Petrography section of the Institute (head: G. Baghdasaryan).